The Executive Director of WASCAL, Dr. Moumini Savadago has co-signed the declaration of Ouagadougou to build the foundation of the scientific pillar of the Alliance Sahel.

The groundbreaking event was held together with 11 other scientific organizations active in the Sahel region. The declaration contained eight Research Priority Areas proposed as follows:

The declaration seeks to support territorial development through foresight analyzes, strengthening local participatory approaches, developing action frameworks in favor of inclusive innovation while building ecological intensification of all sectors through agro-ecological management of crop systems, agriculture-livestock integration, reduction of post-harvest losses, development of food processing and markets.

The declaration will also help develop irrigated crops and the management of natural resources and irrigation schemes; co-manage pastoralism and animal health in terms of animal production, phytopathology and animal health protection as part of a ‘One Health approach.’

The signatories further agreed to  ensure climate change adaptation through the development of new and resilient plant varieties and cropping systems, a review of agricultural practices and improved carbon sequestration for soil fertility; build environment and natural resources management to promote biomass and renewable energies and biodiversity; launch a sustainable and healthy food systems to ensure food and nutrition security of populations; build capacities of actors, consolidate research institutions, support innovation and agricultural and rural development training.

The organizations that signed the declarations in the  presence of ECOWAS representative are the Center for International Cooperation in Agricultural Research for Development (CIRAD), National Center for Agronomic Research and Agricultural Development (CNRADA)and Mauritania; National Council for Agronomic Research and Agricultural Development (CNRA). 

The rest are Institute of Environment and Agricultural Research (INERA) and National Center for Scientific and Technological Research (CNRST) from Burkina Faso; West and Central African Council for Agricultural Research and Development (CORAF); and National Institute for Agricultural Research of Niger (INRAN) and Permanent Interstate Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel (CILSS) from Niger; Senegalese Institute of Agricultural Research (ISRA), Chad Institute for Agricultural Research for Development (ITRA) and Institute of Rural Economy (IER), Mali.